‘Inside Out,’ ‘Anomalisa,’ and ‘The Peanuts Movie’ earn Annie Award nominations

A scene from "Inside Out" showing Anger, from left, (voiced by Lewis Black) Joy (Amy Poehler) and Disgust (Mindy Kaling). (Photo credit: Pixar)

A scene from “Inside Out” showing Anger, from left, (voiced by Lewis Black) Joy (Amy Poehler) and Disgust (Mindy Kaling). (Photo credit: Pixar)

By Susan King
Los Angeles Times

“Anomalisa,” “Inside Out,” “Shaun the Sheep Movie,” “The Good Dinosaur” and “The Peanuts Movie” received nominations Tuesday morning for best animated feature of 2015 for the 43rd Annie Awards.

Notably missing from the nominees were the hits “Minions,” “Home,” “Hotel Transylvania 2” and “The Spongebob Movie: Sponge Out of Water.”

Pixar Animation Studios, which is owned by Disney, dominated the nominations with “Inside Out” earning 13 and “Good Dinosaur” receiving 10.

The awards, which are presented by the International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, announced nominations in 36 categories for film, TV productions, commercials, short subjects, video games and student films as well as honorary and achievement awards.

The Annie Awards also added a new category this year: best animated feature, independent. The inaugural nominees are “Boy and the World,” “Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet,” “The Boy and the Beast” and “When Marnie Was There.”

Other nominees announced Tuesday:
Animated special production: “Elf: Buddy’s Musical Christmas,” “He Named Me Malala,” “I Am a Witness,” “Kite,” Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck” and “Niko and the Sword of Light.”
Animated short subject: “Carface,” “DISSONANCE,” “If I was God,” “On Ice,” “Sanjay’s Super Team” and “World of Tomorrow.”
General audience animated television/broadcast production: “Bob’s Burgers,” “Bojack Horseman” “Moonbeam City” and “The Simpsons”
Directing in an animated feature production: Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson for “Anomalisa”; Raul Garcia for “Extraordinary Tales”; Pete Docter for “Inside Out”; Roger Allers for “Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet”; Mark Burton and Richard Starzak for “Shaun the Sheep Movie”; Steve Martino for “The Peanuts Movie”; and Hiromasa Yonebayashi for “When Marnie Was There”;
Voice acting in an animated feature production: Jennifer Jason Leigh for “Anomalisa”; Amy Poehler for “Inside Out”; Phyllis Smith for “Inside Out”; Pierre Coffin for “Minions”; Jon Hamm for “Minions”; Alex Garfin for “The Peanuts Movie”; Hadley Belle Miller for “The Peanuts Movie”; and Tom Kenny for “The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water.”

The Juried Awards honor career achievements and notable contributions to animation. The late Joe Ranft, Phil Roman and Isao Takahata received this year’s Winsor McCay award for their contributions to the art of animation, and producer Don Hahn received the June Foray honor for his “significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation.”

The Annies and the Academy Awards have had a mixed track record in their animated feature category. This year, “How to Train Your Dragon 2” captured the top prize, while the Oscar went to “Big Hero 6.” The year before, both organizations chose “Frozen.”

The awards will be handed out Feb. 6 at a ceremony at UCLA’s Royce Hall.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.